To Smudge or Not to Smudge?

There really is no choice.

It has been said that burning sage is one of the oldest and purest methods of cleansing a person, group of people or space. With that said, it is only recently that I learnt of this. Commonly known as sage smudging, burning sage throughout the house, office or in any space purifies the space and cleans the energy.

“The idea is that by burning certain herbs in a space, the smoke generated attaches itself to the negative energy and as the smoke dissipates, so does the negative energy. This burning of herbs can also be used for individual cleansing, after a particularly energetically depleting day or experience, for example or on crystals or personal objects used in ritual to ensure that they are not holding any negative energy.”

I have noticed that on the evenings my yoga teacher smudges the yoga room, my practice is more free flowing and I exit from my Shavasana with such clarity. So why confine this feeling to the yoga room? Why not incorporate this into my home, include my personal belongings and my family? Today I purchased my first bag of sage. I would definitely have to warn you, it kinda smells like marijuana. So be prepared for some comments about the ol’ Mary Jane. But Alas it is not. No funny business here, merely just smudging the house. That sentence alone sounds funny, but smudging I did. Especially on a Friday afternoon, after a tough week at work, tonights smudging was just the reset we needed.

I can’t believe I hadn’t heard about this ancient practise until now, while I am in my…errr (clears throat) late thirties. There are so many benefits, the Native Americans & Celtic Druids were really onto something and I’m glad my journey has led me back to these findings. Namaste Sara for the learnings.

 

Happy Smudging ❤

img_1485
Sage in hand, I went straight home and started smudging

Published by Find Your Groove

Yoga Teacher, Reiki & Massage practitioner.

Leave a comment